2020 Annual General & Special Meeting

Please plan to attend Manitoba Corn Growers Association’s 2020 Annual General & Special Meeting.


When: Wednesday, February 12, 2020, 12:10 p.m.
Where: Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre – Wellington A Room
1808 Wellington Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba

  • Call to Order
  • Introduction of Board and Staff
  • Approval of Agenda
  • President’s Report – Dennis Thiessen
  • Minutes from last Annual Meeting – February 13, 2019
  • Auditor’s Report – George & Associates Chartered Professional Accountants Inc.
  • Special Resolution of the Members:


  1. In relation to the amalgamation of MANITOBA CORN GROWERS ASSOCIATION INC. (the “Association”) and Manitoba CROP ALLIANCE Inc., Manitoba Flax Growers Association Inc., The National Sunflower Association of Canada Inc., Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association Inc., and WINTER CEREALS MANITOBA INC. (collectively, the “Amalgamating Associations”) and effective August 1, 2020:

    a. the amalgamation of the Association with the Amalgamating Associations
    (the “Amalgamation”), substantially on the terms and conditions set forth in the amalgamation agreement presented to the members and posted on the Association’s website (the “Amalgamation Agreement”), is hereby approved; and

    b. the current by-laws of the Association be amended and replaced with the by-laws, as posted on the Association’s website, of the Manitoba Crop Alliance Inc.
  • Other Resolution:
    • MCGA Board of Directors Resolution – Scientific Research and Experimental Development program: That Manitoba Corn Growers Association acts as the agent for producers in all matters relating to Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) tax incentive program in regards to corn. 
  • Reports
    • Nomination Committee
      • *First call for nominations from the floor
    • Review of previously circulated documents
      • *2nd call for nominations from the floor
        ~ Motion to Accept Committee Reports
  • Final Call for Nominations from the Floor
    Motion to cease nominations
  • Election of Directors
  • Other Business
    • ~Motion to Appoint Auditors
    • ~Motion to Approve the Actions of the Board in 2019
    • ~Motion to Re-organize for 2020
  • Grain Growers of Canada Update – Erin Gowriluk, Executive Director
  • Open Discussion & Question Period
  • Adjournment